Budget tips

I remember buying what I thought was a multipack of space raiders only to get home and find it was a massive bag, had to eat the lot, but then couldn’t feel my tongue for about 3 days :rofl:

2 Likes

@Kiava my take home pay is approx £2,000 a month. I’m in my 20s with no kids.

I always ‘pay myself first’ which involves £200 in savings, £550 in investments. Then I live on whatever I have left.

The below is my average monthly expenses. If I have an expensive month such as car repairs etc, then I’ll cut out something else like food and drink out. All of the below expenses are 50% of total. My partner covers the other 50%.

Mortgage = £350.
Petrol = £80 (live 10 mins from work, mainly cycle, petrol expense is predominantly for weekend trips).
All house bills = £160. (bought my first house in Nov 2022, bought somewhere small and cheerful to keep costs down - council tax band B).
Food = £240.
Spotify = £5.
Food and drink out = £40.
Phone bill = £11.
House maintenance (DIY) averages around £30 a month.
Personal care (gym, hair cuts, running shoes etc) around £35 a month.

House insurance, car insurance etc is paid from my savings in a 12 month lump sum as it’s cheaper than paying monthly.

5 Likes

Thats very impressive for anyone never mind while you are still in your 20s.

As long as you make space and allowances to ‘live a little’ once in while (you really need to while you are young) then all sounds very good.

Put life first, but one eye on the future is always good too.

1 Like