Dividend question for beginner

Hi all
I’m new to investing but at considering buying some shares for my ISA in Legal and General who’s ex-dividend date is Thursday, I believe. Is it as simple that so long as my money is invested prior to the ex-dividend date then I will receive the dividend?

Your understanding is correct
The ex-dividend date for stocks is usually set one business day before the record date. If you purchase a stock on its ex-dividend date or after, you will not receive the next dividend payment. Instead, the seller gets the dividend. If you purchase before the ex-dividend date, you get the dividend.

1 Like

How long do you need to hold the shares to get the dividend payment?

Let’s say the ex-dividend date is Wednesday.
Technically you can just buy a stock a few seconds the day BEFORE the ex-dividend date (Tuesday) and then sell it first thing in the morning of the ex-dividend date (Wednesday or whatever the next business day is) and you would still receive the dividend.

1 Like

I bought Jupiter fund management plc yesterday and the ex dividend date is tomorrow. So if I sell them Thursday I get the dividend?

Just a word of warning: the obvious strategy is to hop around buying one stock to get its dividend, holding it for a day or two, then selling and buying another one to get its dividend, and so on. Unfortunately, the strategy doesn’t work. Normally a stock’s price drops on the day it goes ex-dividend by an amount that is equal to the dividend (plus or minus whatever other factors are pushing the price up and down as usual). So if you buy just to get the dividend and then sell, you’ll get the dividend, but you’ll have to sell the stock for less than you paid for it, by an amount that cancels out the gain from the dividend.

Also, keep in mind that the dividend is typically paid out about a month or so after the ex-dividend date. You don’t have to still be holding the stock, but you will have to wait a while for the money to arrive.

7 Likes