Your Thoughts On Equity Crowdfunding

Hello everyone! I am a PhD researcher at Lund University (Sweden) and I am currently working on a project regarding equity crowdfunding investors. The aim of my study is to develop the current knowledge we have of the crowd and improve the investors’ experience.

I would like to ask you a few questions, any input to the discussion will be extremely appreciated:

• When you invest in equity crowdfunding, what are your expectations and investment objectives?
  • What is your role once the campaign phase is concluded (what do you do after)?
  • Are you happy with your current investments?
  • What are the major challenges of equity crowdfunding, in your opinion?

I am also doing online interviews on this topic, so if you feel you would like to share your thoughts in more details that would be great, just let me know. Once the study is completed, I will share a copy of the final research findings i.e. academic articles/PhD study.
Thank you!
Camilla

3 Likes

Two great threads here.

1 Like

Looking forward to seeing your results.

The questions seem a little unstructured. Are you testing any particular hypothesis? (of course I would not ask you to disclose what that is, lest that influence my answers).

Quick relies:

2 Likes

Hi!
Thank you so much for replying, and sorry for my late answer.
Regarding your question, I can briefly tell you that I am trying to identify a link between investment motivation and behaviour of investors, as well as coherence/incoherence between initial expectations and results from the investments.
Regarding the behaviour, most of the literature considers the crowd very passive, without doing actual research on it, while some interviews with entrepreneurs outlined that the crowd can try to be very participative, but each case is different.
I just wanted to ask you a brief follow up question on this comment you made:

• What is your role once the campaign phase is concluded (what do you do after)?