Does anyone on here invest, or has invested, in property?

I’m in a bit of a predicament! But I suppose it’s a good one, so I’m looking for advice.

I’ve sold my house and have pulled out a decent portion of money. Now it’s what to invest that money into…

I can continue with my Stocks and Shares ISA. Well diversified, fee free, no capital gains tax and can have access to the money any time any place.

But I have now found a property, 10k below market value that will yield me around 9%. Now I know that’s in the perfect ideal world, where tenants pay on time, no damages etc

I just want to know what the better all round investment model will be, I’m self employed so the ultimate goal is cash flow and passive income. Any other info needed just ask and I’ll try my best to answer.

2 Likes

I have no experience with this but I have family that has a rental property and the first thing that comes to mind really is before the decision if it’s a good investment or not is do you want to deal with the different issues which come with having a rental property?

If it was me I would move ahead with it on the assumption that this stops being just an investment but has to be treated properly like a business (which sounds like you’d be perfectly capable of doing already being self employed), and that it being the first time into this industry (considering it as a business) that there may be mistakes along the way.

If you’ve put in the work and the numbers suggest there’s money to be made and you want to do it I’d go for it.

2 Likes

I’m just trying to weigh everything up. And tbh I keep coming back to Stocks because it’s what I know and already have experience in.

Like Infant Investors I can diversify through REIT’s, alongside my other index’s and stock picks.

I just get so many conflicting arguments :smile:

3 Likes