Euro collapse = Invest in Gold?

I hear mutterings of Italy going bankrupt, German recession and the epic collapse of the Euro this year. People hinting at investing in Gold.

I have bought into Centamin Minning but I hear POLY METAL (Not on Freetrade yet) being punted around amongst others. But I am a mere novice.

Does anyone have any views on this?

Invest in gold or invest in people digging up the gold? There’s a physical gold ETF in app if you want to track the price of the gold itself

1 Like

Thanks Emma.
There are lots of views out there and they are usually trying to charge you a fee for the privilege of their share tips. I am investing relatively small amounts at present and I am interested in the ideas of more experienced investor with regard to sifting through the waffle :slight_smile:

Gold is priced in Dollars, ideally you want the dollar to collapse for Gold to really take off.

Mining companies can be extremely risky especially small ones, they often get hammered if there’s even a small drop in the gold price

In the past I’ve done alright trading in and out of Wheaton Precious metals (formerly Silver Wheaton). They finance miners in exchange for buying silver and gold later at a fixed price which is usually well below the spot price. They tend to be correlated with the silver price, and pay a small dividend. There’s a couple of other companies doing the same thing. Sandstorm Gold is one of them

2 Likes

also have sandstorm position with another broker. Would be great to get it on FT alongside barrick gold - considering Dalio’s constant posting about a global recession - sooner rather later!

He’s been saying it for years. It’s basically like saying “it’s going to rain”…maybe not Today or Tomorrow but eventually, sure. Hardly an enlightening prediction

2 Likes

He has a $1.5b hedge for a crash in the next four months which covers 66% of his entire holdings.