Fx fees take a sum

Im a noob here and first time buying and selling shares. I managed to make a profit of 150gbp with one trade but the fx fee for buying and then selling add upto 45gbp
now my profit is only 105gbp.isnt that a huge percentage of the profit. What about witholding tax in the usa or capital gains tax in uk?. How do you make money on here without paying a a huge amount when im taking the risk?.
Any other competitors that dont use fx fees and just pay an amount to buy the trade?. Which is cheaper any help would be appreciated.

As a % of the profit yes but you can’t measure it on profit alone, what’s your trade value?

2 Likes

Hey,

Thanks for the reply,

Here you go

1 Like

The fees are in here. It’s spot rate conversion + 0.45% FX fee.

If you’re following a long term investment strategy then FX fees are immaterial long term, although worth minimising where you can.

If your strategy is to trade short term then maybe best to look at having an account in USD.

3 Likes

Sebreitz
Already read that was just looking for some local knowledge from regulars
thanks

Tinvest
I have long term in vuag and vwrp
 this is my play cash
 what are your strategies if i may ask.

An account in usd?

Certain brokers (I don’t know if Freetrade is one) allow you to have general investment accounts in different currencies, note an ISA needs to be in GBP. But if you’re trading then you could have a USD account, pay FX fees once then do multiple trades in USD with no FX fee. It isn’t really my thing so can’t make specific recommendations, but look into it.

In the past (going back 10-15 years) I was quite scattergun with no strategy. I’ve learnt a lot in the last 2 years. Strategy is long term, buy, dollar/pound average, hold - with the odd short term hedge if I find my portfolio unbalanced.

Portfolio is made up:

• 50% pension (which is largely VWRP type stuff)