Please explain this loss calculation

I am confused about whatā€™s just happened on my freetrade account and if anyone could clear it up Iā€™d be really grateful. This might come across as very stupid but I am new to this and have completely regretted investing this money. Iā€™m not here for pep talks, I just want to understand whatā€™s happened. So hereā€™s what happened.

I had Ā£6000 invested at an average price of 80p and 7410 shares.
The SP over the last year has dwindled down to 11p. (Yes Iā€™m absolutely gutted, but prepared to sit and wait for my money back).
Today I bought Ā£200 worth which brought my average down to 66p and took my shares up to 9238.
Later on in the day, I made sure the SP hadnā€™t gone down since I bought (the value had actually gone up Ā£5) and then sold the same amount of shares I bought earlier and put it in something else.
For some reason, I now have an even lower avg price at 59p, but instead of my investment gain/loss saying -Ā£5200, it now says -Ā£3594.
So have I just lost Ā£1500? Why hasnā€™t it just sold the 1828 shares I bought earlier on in the day?

Iā€™m absolutely fuming and Iā€™ve no idea what to do. I feel like Iā€™ve basically just traded Ā£1500 for Ā£200. I feel sick :frowning:

You would have sold your shares not from the last batch you bought but from the first batch which would of changed your average as well.

Was your first batch of shares you bought in whatever company at a higher price? Then you continued to buy at a lower price so then when you sold the higher priced shares you lowered your average.

What stock is it? did you check the bid/ask spread? This doesnā€™t show on Freetrade so you need to double check on somewhere like Yahoo finance

Edit: maybe Iā€™m confused what you are asking, are you saying the value of your portfolio went down Ā£1500 or is it just the average price you donā€™t understand?

Iā€™m guessing it could well be ODX.