Tax - General investment account

Hi there, really hoping that someone can help me out as Iā€™ve only just recently started started buying stocks and shares in general investment account and Iā€™m not entirely sure about the tax side of things. I have a full-time job and my employer of course does all the tax calculations for me via PAYE, so I have never really dealt with HMRC personally and Iā€™m really not familiar with the process. So please feel to respond to this question as if youā€™re talking to a complete newbie because thatā€™s exactly what I am! (-:

do i need to complete a self-assessment form even if i made a loss on a stock? Example: I bought a stock in company A, but their stock price started to go down, so I sold it at a loss. do I still need to complete a self-assessment form to prove to HMRC that my sale included a loss and therefore I donā€™t owe any cgt?

Or

do I only need to submit a self-assessment if I have actually made a profit/capital gain above the capital gain allowance limit?

Final question. For stocks sold in January 2021, I think you can submit self assessment in January 2022, i.e. a year later. Is this correct?

Thank you so much in advance would really appreciate some guidance on this. :pray::relaxed:

D

1 Like

Iā€™m also pretty green to this kind of thing and you shouldnā€™t ever pay attention to what some idiot like me says! Aka, the following isnā€™t financial advice.

From my own reading, it seems that you donā€™t need to report a loss. Capital gains is only applicable on gains, so no gains, no reporting it. To the best of my knowledge, you only need report a gain above the capital gains allowance for the tax year in which your holdings were sold.

There are others who can better cover all of this, but Iā€™m definitely unsure about the final part.

1 Like

From my understanding you only need declare capital gains if they exceed the allowance, however this doesnā€™t just include stocks.