What should I invest in first?

I’m new to actually investing, I just know a bit of terminology.

What kind of investments should I look into first?

Ask your beginners questions here 🐣
(Emma) #2

This blog might help

Very informative, thanks!
Though, that post doesn’t actually tell me how to be a great stock investor, just how to be a sensible investor…

(Alex Sherwood) #4

We’ve got lots more blog posts where that came from :smile:

There’s a few more in this wiki that you might find useful Introductory wiki 🐣

So you want to be a great stock investor? Awesome. That is a great goal to have. I’m glad you think that post is very informative. I’m also glad you got the idea, from reading that post, of how to be a sensible investor.
I didn’t write the post. I think being a sensible investor it’s a huge part of being a great stock investor. If you managed to get that far, I would say you’re on the right track.
As for your question about what kind of investments you should look into first, no one will be able to tell you I’m afraid. We can’t provide investment advice. What people can do is share and indicate resources so you can decide what works best for you.

Do you want to be able to pick stocks in order to try to beat the market or are you happy with a passive approach?

Historically, the SP500 provided real total returns of circa 7% per year on average.

I’m sure you recall from that blog post, the name of an investor. The author of the post called him legendary. His name is Warren Buffet. In his investment career he achieved circa 20% average annual returns.

Do you want to know how on earth did he do it? Awesome. You’re lucky. There are many books about his investment style. The man himself has been writing every year on the subject. There’s also videos where he explains his investment principles, and you can find them on YouTube. In those resources he also shares resources where he learnt from.