GME restrictions

Does anyone know if we are likely to be in the same position again with GME?

It looks increasingly likely that it will go up again and when the time comes i need to know if Freetrade is likely to limit our activity again or we can trade without interference.

I know it was their FX partner that screwed them but I’m a Freetrades customer not the banks so need to know i can trade freely

Maybe you should ask Freetrades suppliers?

FT did everything they could. They lost a lot of money as a result. Do you really think it was a good advert for them?

I’m a manager for a home improvement company and when things go wrong I can’t simply say my customers need to speak to my suppliers, what a foolish reply.

Of course it wasn’t a good advert for them.

I’m on their forums hoping for more insight not silly responses about contacting the suppliers of the company i do business with.

Thanks anyway.

What makes you think it’s likely to go up again? Just out of interest.

I agree it wasn’t the best reply.

What I can say is that, from my experience, Freetrade will always be transparent and work in the best interest of the customer. The GME event was a bit of a ‘black swan’ event but I imagine as a result there will be processes put in place to reduce the likelihood of any restrictions happening in future i.e. may be revised agreements with the trading partners

I don’t think @Rollingskies response was as silly as you make out.
You could blame freetrade, but it will have zero effect and only serve to waste your time since it wasn’t their decision and it wasn’t a decision they even supported.
If you just want to vent, then by all means vent but to me it’s seems like blaming a lightbulb for a power cut.

1 Like

I’m not sure why you are asking the question when the answer is obvious.