ISA help and advice

Hi,

I have been investing for a couple of years and on average invest about £5-10 thousand a year and do get a good amount of dividends each year.

I have never had or used an ISA so literally novice at ISA’s.

With the changes to the tax free dividend allowance dropping over the next two years and i have never looked at an ISA before and I believe on an ISA you can use it in the same way as a general investment account but with the maximum deposit of £20 thousand a year.

What I was wondering is if it would be better for me to stop using my general investment account and start using just the ISA for buying and selling to avoid any tax ?

And is there anything I am not aware of to be aware of?

Also when selling and buying shares in an isa does that count towards the yearly limit or is it just new money I deposit that counts to the yearly allowance.

Sorry if this seems a dumb question

Any advice would be appreciated

You put pounds into an isa account not stocks. You are allowed to put in 20k a year (currently). With that 20k you can buy and sell as much as you want and any dividends also appear in the isa account as a bonus. Everything in the isa is tax free, no capital gains, no dividend tax, nothing. You can take it out whenever you want, but can only put in 20k in any tax year. You cannot carry over any of the 20k if you missed out a bit before, so put in 20k at once if you haven’t already, then when April rolls around you can put in another 20k.

Unfortunately you will have to sell your shares to move them into the isa as you can only put £££ and not shares.

2 Likes

Here’s more info: What is a stocks and shares ISA - ISAs explained for beginners.

2 Likes

Also, be aware that the ISA fee is £4.99 a month - having said that its still better than paying tax given how much you are saving every year.

2 Likes