ISA QUESTION

Sorry for this very basic question, but i am a newbie.
So I have an ISA with freetrade. And I know only upto a max of Ā£20000 can be put in to it in 1 year.
for example, if i deposit Ā£300 and i buy an etf for Ā£300, so now my limit is down to Ā£19,700. But if I sold that ETF for Ā£400, and therefore that Ā£400 was paid into my account. What would the remaining allowable deposit be for my ISA?

1 Like

If you sell for a profit you have not deposited more in your account.

You can put in Ā£20,000 a year (currently) - whatever happens to the money once it is in your account is irrelevant.

You could still put Ā£19,700 in.

1 Like

It is only cash that comes from outside to inside the isa

once it is in the isa - you can buy sell hold do whatever you want to it (except withdraw from isa, though that will be tax free)

1 Like

you cant withdraw from the ISA??

Thank you Richard. Just one more thingā€¦can the same be said for etfs which pay dividends into the ISA?. Those dividends being paid in dont subtract from the remaining ISA deposit allowance??

What do you mean? Yes you can

Itā€™s only money that comes from the outside to inside.

Dividends come from inside, so arenā€™t included in your 20000

1 Like

*except withdraw from isa, though that will be tax free)
I was just refering to this comment from above

Just one more ISA question, I promise!!!
I know I can only open 1 in any one tax year, but if I had opened a few in different tax years so now i have lets say 3 ISA accounts, could i use all 3 in one tax year?

You can withdraw from an isa

You can keep all 3 but you can only add new money/capital into one S&S ISA in any tax year.

Your questions are exactly the kind I was asking when first starting out so based on my own experience let me try to answer in a way that would have satisfied all of my questions:
Example:

• In 2018 you invested Ā£20k in a Vanguard ISA
  • In 2019 you invested Ā£20k in a Freetrade ISA