Stock price query

Hi,

I am new to Freetrade and I am using it as a hobby. I have repeatedly seen a stock I invested in increase in price above that which I paid, confirmed by green text telling me how much I will make. I then have (multiple times) gone to sell, only for the order to give me less than I originally invested? Why is there this difference and why am I shown misleading numbers on the app?

Thanks for the help!

Do you mind me asking which stock it is?

This might also help understand what’s happening

1 Like

It was just a cheap stock I was watching fluctuate between a few pence to see how it all worked. I put it down to human error on my part the first time but after it happened multiple times I assumed I was missing something.

Thankyou for posting this. I have given it a read, am I right in thinking therefore the “spread” is what is causing this discrepancy? As Freetrade are showing an average but the market is trying to buy lower?

Thanks again!

It could be. It’s hard to know without the specifics.

If you think it could be incorrect you can ask support for a best execution report and they’ll look into the transaction for you and confirm if anything went awry.

1 Like

If you don’t want to say which stock it was I can’t be much help. Freetrade don’t charge a spread but that does not mean that you will get the live price. The live price is only the average of the transactions so actual transactions can vary.

1 Like

If you use something like IG spread bet account for the exact price (Freetrade is 15 minutes behind the live price). Using IG Trading account you can see the realtime live prices including the spread i.e what you can actually buy and sell the stock for. Freetrade aims to get as close to these prices when they execute (buy/sell) your orders.

1 Like

Hi!