The Ammonia Economy (hand in hand with the Hydrogen Economy)

I’ve got a thing for the green hydrogen economy but I’m not an engineer by any stretch of the imagination.

Recently I’ve been reading more about the role ammonia will play in the future - a room temperature liquid fuel made of green hydrogen and nitrogen pulled from the air (80% of the air we breathe).

A Norwegian state capitalist company. Yara International is experimenting with it on ships - slide 16 onwards - https://maritimecleantech.no/wp-content/uploads/2020/01/Nov19-Ammonia-fuel-NCE-cleantech.pdf

And Reaction Engines in the UK is planning to trial it on planes - https://cen.acs.org/energy/renewables/Ammonia-route-fuel-ships-planes/98/i31

I thought it might be of interest to any other future energy nerds and maybe we can chat amongst ourselves and find some good early investment opportunities in the ammonia space!

8 Likes

A really interesting find! Thanks for that. It will still suffer similar efficiency losses as direct Hydrogen production for fuel cells (compared to using Li-ion batteries), but at least it is significantly more advantages than hydrogen in terms of storage and transport - and has the bonus of disrupting the Haber process for making fertilisers - another huge industry.

1 Like

I’m very interested in H2/ammonia scene. I feel it’s the future and prevents carbon release. H2 is relatively expensive still but price is coming down.
If you’re an energy geek, worth checking out Proton Tech Canada although not on FT or public. They think they can produce H2 very cheaply directly from oil wells. Clean hydrogen that undercuts hydrocarbon fuel price is the key…
Watch this space

1 Like

I couldn’t find this when I wrote my original post but here it is now. It’s a news story from back in January but it’s what actually sent me down the ammonia rabbit hole.