Today’s Stock Market 📉

Not looking a good day for the vast majority of the market :chart_with_downwards_trend: the new COVID variant appears to be rattling the main indexes :money_with_wings::money_with_wings::chart_with_downwards_trend::chart_with_downwards_trend:

2 Likes

This is my first time going through something like this as started investing after the last covid related crash. Trying to be brave and still topping up for the future. Definitely holding on and not selling.

3 Likes

Just hold your nerve @Jakeisme and don’t sell off if you don’t need to, sometimes this is a good opportunity to up certain positions in the market, like airlines and travel industry stocks some companies will be going cheap

2 Likes

Aviva dropped a fair bit this morning which surprised me. But did top up some more of them. I’m going to not panic as only have invested what I can afford to loose. But hoping it’s only a short drop and a big bounce…time will tell

2 Likes

From initial reporting this does not look good at all. And on the eve of rate rises to attempt to combat inflation…the next month does not look constructive for equities. I’m going to wait for a bit on purchases as I think we could see a correction. Dry powder in short term gilts so I can take advantage.

It will be interesting to see what happens when the American :us: market opens following thanksgiving, feel like it could be a tough couple of weeks for equities

I’m not shifting my shares anywhere, drops like this to be expected. My decision is whether I buy more now taking advantage of the drops or wait to see if they drop further next week…

3 Likes

@PeteL i think that’s exactly what I’m going to do, drops like this present opportunities to take up new positions at bargain prices

1 Like

It’s a long list of red on my watchlist - as others have said, might be some buying opportunities if the prices drop enough.

Looks like the FTSE has hit a bottom(ish) for now, at least until the US gets going.

2 Likes