Where to invest my initial investment

Hi all,

I’m new to Freetrade and investment in general, if you guys had £250 to get started in Freetrade where would you invest? It can be stocks or ETFs whatever maximises or makes more sense in terms of charges etc.

I know it’s not much but i want to play a bit first, understand the ins-and-outs before committing a bigger sum.

Thanks in advance for your time.

3 Likes

If you only have 250£ definitely ETFs.

1 Like

Hey Will

There are some good threads on the topics below here you might like:

And this one has some really great ideas from the community:

4 Likes

I’ve got a few friends and family into investing. I’ve invited about 5 people onto Freetrade now and what I normally say is just put a tenner in and buy any stock(s) that you think are interesting. I think this is a good, low risk way of just getting some experience of the investing process, e.g. how you buy a stock, how much the charges are, what does stock ownership look like, how can you track your return. - Make your own judgement, though.

Then personally I just read articles, watch youtube videos and discuss with people on forums about stocks and general investing. For me I don’t think I’ll ever put my main savings into a personal stock pick, I just see this as a way to have some fun with a small percentage of my savings and learn at the same time. Most of my savings are in index funds, in an ISA.

7 Likes

Good luck. As Stefano says ETF’s, back what you know and believe in. Keep putting the bulk of your money in to ETF’s and when Freetrade offer fractional buying try and build a small% of your portfoilio in individual stocks.

1 Like

Conservative (with a small c) investor viewpoint here.