I don't want to see the effect of withdrawals and deposits on my portfolio line graph

Hi, I’m new to the Freetrade forum (not the app or community platforms like this) so please do shout if I’m not going about this the correct way for this community…

I’d like the portfolio tab line graph to only show whether the value of my stocks has gone up and down, not whether I’ve added money or withdrawn it.

Thanks

Hi and welcome to the forum.

Click on Insights, Portfolio performance and then Time-weighted rate of return - this will show the performance of the market value of your portfolio over time, excluding the effects of deposits and withdrawals.

The drop down at the top right will allow you to select the period you want to check, eg 1 week, 1 month, 3 months, 1 year, etc.

9 Likes

I agree it makes it look like your going up up up but it’s mainly just deposits

2 Likes

Hey, thanks for this and the welcome.

I have used the insights tab and it’s helpful. But i’d prefer the chart on portfolio tab to also be without the effects of withdraws and deposits. When i add and remove money it completely skews the chart and makes it not really add much insight as its difficult to tell whether I did well today or not.

I like the chart on the portfolio tab. I like it’s positioning. I like i can do a daily view. I like that its the same look and feel and function as chart you get when you look at a single stocks line chart. I like that it is live and auto updating.

The insights chart you screenshot is a few taps away and only provides 7 days as shortest the period. It is also static rather than live data

9 Likes

Yeh, I tend to deposit little and often and also withdraw money relatively regularly too so does skew things. I guess some people may deposit a larger amount less frequently and for them, it would be less of an issue but I suspect I’m not alone on the little and often.

1 Like