Share time length

Hallo you wonderful users,

I’m not 100% sure this topic goes here but it is regarding shares etc…

So, in a nutshell, I bought shares. Now I’m happy with them and feel I’ve got a long term investment to just let it grow. My question is the following: if I walk away and “forget” about them will they always be mine? This also applies to the app, if the delete the FT app will the purchased shares become redundant after a period of time? I know this probably a simple answer but looking online I get confused when companies get bought out or when they’re split.

Any help on this would be incredible to put my mind at ease.

Thanks

1 Like

To answer your latter question, you can delete the app and redownload it later. You’ll need to enter your email and password, so keep it in a safe place.

1 Like

Freetrade normally drop you message in app of changes like these. So if you’ve deleted the app, you’ll most likely miss them.

If shares you own have a share spilt this will happen automatically, even if they are a fraction of a share (happened to me with Tesla last year).

If they are bought out, it depends on the terms of the sale. For example if it’s for cash this would just appear in your account, but if it’s X shares now equals X shares in company B (for example) this would be a tad more complex as company B would have to be able to be held in a Freetrade account I.e UK or US listed (currently). I’m sure Freetrade would explain all this if it were to happen but if you’ve deleted the app you could miss these notifications

1 Like